Department of Homeland Security

The Department of Homeland Security has a vital mission: to secure the nation from the many threats we face. This requires the dedication of more than 240,000 employees in jobs that range from aviation and border security to emergency response, from cybersecurity analyst to chemical facility inspector. Our duties are wide-ranging, and our goal is clear – keeping America safe.

Agencies within DHS

  • U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE)
    Responsible for identifying and shutting down vulnerabilities in the nation’s border, economic, transportation and infrastructure security.
  • U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Service (USCIS) — see the Rome USCIS webpage
    Responsible for the administration of immigration and naturalization adjudication functions and establishing immigration service polices and priorities. See below for more information.
  • U.S. Customs and Border Protection (CBP) — see the Rome CBP webpage
    As the single unified border agency of the United States, the CBP mission is vitally important to the protection of America and the American people. See below for more information.
  • Transportation Security Administration (TSA)
    Protects the Nation’s transportation systems to ensure freedom of movement for people and commerce.
  • U.S. Secret Service (USSS)
    Protects the President and Vice President, their families, heads of state, and other designated individuals; investigates threats against these protectees; protects the White House, Vice President’s Residence, Foreign Missions, and other buildings within Washington, D.C.; and plans and implements security designs for designated National Special Security Events.